Admittedly it was already a fine day; a smiling sort of day.  Six months of snow finally gone.  A brief gentle rain had washed the dust and mould of winter away.  Sunshine and warm winds beckoned towards the prairie paths that lead through the whispering aspen groves.

The tree buds had burst open in the sun after the rain and the tree tops were dotted with tiny brilliant green flecks. The vivid blue sky with wispy white clouds provided the perfect backdrop as they danced in the gusts of wind.

Image

 © J. Fries 2013

A creature of habit, I usually follow the path in the same direction but I turned the opposite way.   One tree grows out across the edge of the path and from this angle it stands out like a sentinel watching over those who pass.  As I walked by I reached out to touch its smooth green bark.  Its coolness on such a warm day made me pause and I put both my hands around the trunk drinking in the sensation.  It seemed so natural to wrap my arms around the trunk as my cheek rested against both the roughness and smoothness of the bark.  The breezes whispered among the tree tops and as I stood there lost in time.  Mesmerized by the gentle rhythmic swaying of the tree from wind as we waltzed in place, the breeze kissing us as the birds sang their celebrations of spring all around us.  Eyes closed, lost in time and space.

Image

 © J. Fries 2013

No fear.  No worry.  No stress.  No pain.

Only Peace.  Only Safety.  Only Calm.  Only Comfort…

Rising Like Air…

Sometimes the smallest,simplest and most unexpected things bring us to the place where we rise like air.  They spark us with the inspiration, motivation, presence, extra push, boost, strength; whatever it is in that moment that we need to keep going, to keep trying, to keep growing.

Sometimes all we have to do is…

Just be…

And hug a tree…

To Rise Like Air…

