If you read The Girl Who Keeps Getting Up No Matter What last week, you may remember that this past Sunday was  the day where rubber was going to meet the road.  The biggest challenge of Megan’s life as she put it.  There’s a large time difference between Megan’s home and my own so I went to bed Saturday night thinking of her, knowing that very soon while I floated off to Dreamland, Megan would be waking up to face the challenge she’d set for herself; to put a years worth of training to the ultimate test.

I was excited for her,  it’s exhilarating to see people face the challenges and meet the goals they’ve set for themselves, to succeed and to excel.   At the same time I was apprehensive.  What if she couldn’t do it?  What if she fell and got hurt?  What if they wouldn’t let her continue if she did faint?  What if… What if…   I reminded myself, that what if’s in the negative are seldom helpful so I turned them around.  What if Megan places better than she hoped?  What if Megan doesn’t faint?  Happily, I didn’t think about what if anything for long because Megan posted her results.  She was ecstatic to say the least and her happiness was contagious.  So contagious I thought Megan should give us the update on her most amazing journey with her very good friend Jenny at the half marathon for NDCS-UK

1385413_10200690942651530_862819935_n

pictures used with permission by Megan Rose Taylor.  The following article is ©Megan Rose Taylor October 2013

Training for and running the Royal Parks Half Marathon has been an amazing experience and the biggest challenge of my life so far! On sunday morning I was both excited and nervous for what the day would bring.

Having something to work towards has helped me to stay positive and tackle my health ‘problems’ head on. I wanted a challenge that would really push my limits but not something that would be impossible to achieve.

I began training for this event way back in October 2012 and from then to now I have run nearly 300 miles to prepare for race day. Due to my head injury & cardiac problems I am constantly dizzy and the further I run the dizzier I get. That is why, amongst other reasons, that this has been such a big challenge for me.

In my first few weeks of training I couldn’t even run to the end of my road without going completely blind and then fainting. I started to think that it would be impossible and that maybe I had bitten off more than I could chew. But I kept at it and eventually managed to run further and further. I remember the first time I managed to complete a whole mile I rang my Mum crying with joy.

In training I managed to run on average 5 miles before going completely blind and after that I trust my dog to guide me in a roughly straight line. Unfortunately my dog couldn’t join me at the race but my truly amazing friend Jenny ran with me and guided me when I couldn’t see as well as trying to catch me each time I fainted.

I couldn’t have done it without her! I really couldn’t ask for a better or more supportive friend. If you would like to sponsor Jenny, PLEASE DO!, then visit: http://www.justgiving.com/Jenny-Seager she is raising money for the charity Breast Cancer Care.

On race day due to the high volumes of people my dizzies doubled speed instantaneously and I lost my vision completely within mile 1. After that I went through stages where my vision drifted in and out. Luckily after the half way point I could see again, just.

I am still in disbelief but… I DID IT, I completed the race! 21 kilometers, 13.1 miles, and I only fainted 6 times!

I would like to thank the St. Johns Ambulance team who did a fantastic job taking care of everyone during the race. I would also like to take this opportunity to apologise for running away from you when you tried to remove me from the race. Obviously I am used to fainting and know that I am okay to continue if I am not injured. But to those who don’t know me I totally understand why you didn’t want me to continue after watching me collapse over and over. Other than a few bruises I was fine, that is why I ran away from you, I had to complete the race no matter what, I was willing to crawl if necessary.

My rule of run, faint, get up, keep running, really worked! Out of 16000 people I came 14793rd and completed the race in 3hrs48mins, a long time but I got there, eventually. I am proud to say that I did not walk any of it I ran the entire thing.

When I crossed the finish line I burst into tears because I was so happy and overwhelmed that I have raised, currently, £1,172.00 for The National Deaf Children’s Society! THANK YOU SO MUCH TO EVERYONE WHO DONATED!

In my eyes, by completing this marathon I have truly beaten my medical condition and shown myself and everyone that ever doubted me that I can and will achieve my goals. It might take a bit longer and I might have to work a bit harder but I can do anything I put my mind to. For the first time in my life I truly believe that.

Remember, life is what you make of it.

It’s not too late to sponsor me If you want to show your support, it would be great to raise even more money! Visit: http://www.justgiving.com/Megan-Rose-Taylor

If you can only afford to sponsor one person then please sponsor Jenny and not me. I am so overwhelmed with the generosity of strangers and have completely smashed my target! So please help jenny beat her target too, Thank You!

1374013_10200690942291521_316745615_n

If you ever thought that the only person who can win a race is the person who crosses the finish line first, you may need to think about that again.  Winning is so much more than one number, than any number.  Megan is definitely a winner.  Congratulations on not only meeting your challenge head on, but for mowing it down flat.  Thank you Megan for just being you, and sharing your adventure with us.

If you like what you read here please check out our Facebook page.

