Image

©BrooklandsRadio/T.James

Well happy Friday!  Came around rather quickly it seems.  I had a completely different blog planned today but I’ve changed my mind.  The original plan can wait, possibly indefinitely and in its place I want to introduce you to another Internet radio program!  Music is soothing and healing, uplifting and just fun to boogie to!  So it’s one of those things that Rise Like Air loves to celebrate and share.

The other day I was hungry for some good  music to listen to while I was working.  I was tired of my playlist yet didn’t feel making a new one.  I had already listened to the latest It’s All Good Radio Show * which celebrated International Women’s Day, where Debbie Hyde surprised and thrilled me with a shout out to Rise Like Air.  Thank you so much Debbie.  I’d already caught up with Under The Radar Live Sessions ** with David Durant.   What to do what to do.  Since I was still on Mixcloud having listened to Debbie and David, I thought maybe I might find something else there.

I contemplated listening to previous shows, maybe checking out The Vinyl Cafe or Randy Bachman’s Vinyl on Tap on CBC but instead I found myself on The Brooklands Radio website checking out their programme schedule for listening again wondering what else they were serving up.  That’s when I saw it. It wasn’t anything fancy.  “Friday Afternoon With Trevor James” and it was on Mixcloud.

The show excerpt sounded perfect – 3 hours of great music.

Trevor plays all the classic, memorable tracks from the 70’s and 80’s….records that you had forgotten about and ones that take you down memory lane…..Plus a few of the best of the 90’s, 00’s and recent years mixed in seamlessly to make a great music extravaganza that is a must listen show.

Also some Sax in the afternoon a smooth Jazz feature to chill out to, a look back at this day in history to see what happened this day in past times and the Live Gig round up just after 6 to check out where the live music is playing in and around the North Surrey area.

All this together with News and Happenings in our area.

I enjoyed tripping down memory lane with songs like “Could It Be Magic” by Donna Summer, “Secret Lovers” by Atlantic Starr, the full unedited version of “Radar Love” by Golden Earring, “Nights Over Egypt” Bluey’s mix, “Sweet Home Alabama” by Lynyrd Skynard and “We Built This City” by Starship.

Trevor James really is an experienced, knowledgeable DJ, who adds to the listening experience with just the right amount of interesting and relative information.  Other than that he lets the music speak for itself just as it should.  Having grown up with music from the 70’s and 80’s, listening to his show from March 7th delivered as promised.  It was intriguing to experience a music broadcast from a UK perspective.  I knew all the songs, yet was fascinated to learn about how they fared in different countries and other interesting tidbits from his experience in the music scene.

I also enjoyed listening to the advertisements (really few and far between which is also refreshing) and local information.  It was a bit like having a stay myself in Weybridge. The February 14th broadcast, which showcased only songs about Love,  was especially catching because of all the flooding I knew the area was experiencing at the time.  Hearing first hand what was going on and the difficulties transportation and other things presented certainly made it more real than anything I had read or heard over here.

So if you enjoy great music from the 70’s and 80’s with a spattering of newer and even older stuff, or maybe you fancy yourself living in the UK at some point, “Friday Afternoons With Trevor James” on Brooklands Radio  might just be the place for you to start.  You can catch the show live on the internet at Brooklands Radio or enjoy past episodes on Mixcloud.  Either way, good music and good company make for a good time.

Thanks for stopping by!  Hope your weekend is full of great music and entertainment.  Don’t forget to check us out on Facebook too.

©2014 Rise Like Air/J. Fries

* The It’s All Good Radio Show ” which focuses on individuals, companies and organisations which have good at the heart of them. It identifies and shines the spotlight on pioneering individuals and new business models and encourages thought-provoking discussion.”

** Under The Radar Live Sessions is “now in its fourth year [and] is totally devoted to providing a platform for up-and-coming original singers, bands and musicians to reach new audiences.  David showcases fresh and original singers, musicians and bands every Sunday night. They talk about their music, their musical influences and are invited to perform their music live in the studio.”

