Image

A good friend of Rise Like Air is being her typical determined and charitable self.  She is going to climb a mountain, actually 3 mountains. In 24 hours.  And they aren’t beside each other either.  She’s convinced her  friend Izzie to join her.  Izzie, you’re a pretty special friend!

No, I’m not kidding.  If the name Megan Rose Taylor doesn’t sound familiar to you, you should check out a few of our previous blogs, like the one about falling down and getting back up, or then one about taking a different street, or the one about running a race even while fainting.

Well, this ball of energy who could easily put the Energizer Bunny out of business is ready to take on yet another challenge.   The National Three Peaks Challenge.   Yep, mountains.  Not for the faint of heart.  Well, I guess, actually in this case it is.  Best wishes Megan, it’s only 3 weeks away!   Thanks for sharing this with us.

Image

Megan and Jenny after the race courtesy Megan Rose Taylor

Here Megan shares a little more about their upcoming challenge.  I hope it inspires you to help her make a huge difference and attain an important personal goal by  meeting the challenge she has set for herself.

In November 2011, aged 15, I collapsed during a Scout remembrance day service. The impact of my fall caused my skull to fracture in three places. Now, almost three years after my accident, I am still facing the consequences.

The damage to my inner ear system has left me with many problems: hearing loss, poor balance, and constant dizziness. I have learnt to cope overtime and after intense physiotherapy my balance has shown a massive improvement. I now wear a hearing aid to help with my hearing loss and have also learnt how to lip read.

 Almost a year after my accident, after countless tests at various hospitals across the country, the cause of collapse was found to be a heart condition, Vasovagal Syncope with Ventricular Standstill. Results from my ‘tilt test’ showed that my blood pressure would dramatically decrease, followed by a 7-10 second pause in my heart rate, causing me to collapse.

 For unknown reasons I have continued to faint on a regular basis since my original accident. On an average day I will faint between 6-8 times. Other days can be much worse, or sometimes I wont faint at all, I like these days best!

 I have faced many challenges over the past three years whislt learning how to cope with my condition.

Whilst in hospital, the dizziness was so fast that I was unable to even sit up by myself. Thankfully overtime the spinning speed has decreased enough that I am able to ignore it to a certain extent, and carry on with daily activities, although I do occasionally walk into walls and door frames. It’s a good thing I can laugh at myself!

 One of the biggest challenges I have faced is how other people perceive me. On several occasions I have collapsed in the street and have been ignored, accused of being ‘another drunk teenager’. One time I woke up to find people actually stepping over me as I was in their way. I have also however witnessed some incredible acts of kindness that restore my faith in humanity.

 Despite fainting on and off during the exam period, I managed to complete my GCSE exams, achieving three A*, 3 A and 7 B grades. I am currently at Nescot College completing an Extended Diploma in Animal Management, and will be starting a degree in Animal Behavior and Welfare this September.

 I have so far achieved a distinction grade in every submitted assignment throughout my college course, I hope to achieve a triple distinction * as my final grade in June.

 As well as full time education I have two part time jobs, my own small business, and currently volunteer with four different organizations. This includes being a Young Leader with 1st Tolworth Scout Group, a group I have been part of since age 6.

 After my 18th birthday, I will finally be old enough to volunteer with my dog Ruby for the charity Pets As Therapy, making that five voluntary jobs!

 In October 2013, I took on a challenge and raised an amazing £1,368 for The National Deaf Children’s Society. I completed The Royal Parks Half Marathon, 21 kilometers, with my best friend, Jenny Seager, right by my side. I could not have done it without her.

 The further I run the dizzier I get, until eventually I cannot see. Jenny acted as a guide and we encouraged each other to keep moving forward. Although we were almost last to cross the finish line, we did it! And I had never felt so proud. For me that was the day I truly felt as though I could overcome any challenge that life throws at me.

 I am very lucky that each time I faint recovery is quick and spontaneous. This means that with a little determination; as long as I am not injured from falling, I am able to simply get back up, smile and continue.

 This is difficult for people to understand. Many feel that by continuing with life as normal; weather it be running, climbing, working or traveling, is dangerous and should not be done. I know what my limits are and how far to push them, what is safe for me and what is not.

 I would never put myself in a situation that I know I could not handle, or that would put myself or others at risk. It’s about common sense and realistic goals. For example; half marathon, not whole marathon… for now!

 Having a challenge to work towards helps me to stay positive and motivated, as well as giving me opportunity to help others. My next challenge will be the biggest and most difficult of my life so far.

In just three weeks time I will be climbing the three highest mountains in Scotland, England and Wales in just 24 hours, that is Ben Nevis, Scafell Pike and Mt Snowdon.

 I’d be lying if I said that my condition isn’t going to make this challenge tougher, but it doesn’t make it impossible. I will be completing the challenge just two days after my 18th birthday, with another great friend of mine, Izzie Rowe, who is also an Explorer Scout. We will be accompanied by a trained medic and mountain guide.

 The National Three Peaks Challenge is one of the toughest mountaineering challenges around. I am doing this in order to raise money for the charity Help for Heroes, who deliver an enduring national network of support for our wounded soldiers and their families.

 They inspire and enable those who have made sacrifices on our behalf to achieve their full potential. The war may be nearly over, but for those who have suffered life-changing injuries, their battles are just beginning. We will not let them fight these battles alone.

 I am incredibly grateful for every opportunity I have been given in life, and I am so thankful for everything I have and for all the great people in my life. Especially my parents, who give up so much time and energy for me, and who never stop worrying!

 Please support Izzie and me on our fundraising challenge by donating anything you can to our Just Giving page and spreading the word!

 You can also keep up to date with our adventure by liking us on Facebook. We will be posting pictures, videos and updates!

 Thank you for your support and never give up on your dreams!

 P.S. To all my Scouting brothers and sisters, remember this, a Scout has courage in all difficulty.

©2014 Megan Rose Taylor

 

©2014 JFries/Rise Like Air

Thank you so much for stopping by.  Please share Megan’s dreams and help her achieve them.

Join the conversation on Facebook too.

