If we’re really going to make a difference we can’t look at it as a job. Too much process not enough progress. Everyone has a story. Help make it a happy ending.

takingthemaskoff

2015-01-10_12.42.37

“I do not like that man, I must get to know him better.” -Abraham Lincoln

I often hear people wonder out loud why there is such a high rate of recidivism, why do our patients come back, and why is there a high rate of repeat “offenders” in the Mental Health System. We can’t fix Mental Illness they say. We can’t “cure” it. The problem is we are trying to cure the wrong people. It is the staff that needs to be “cured,” or fixed. Not the patients. The patients are not the problem. The staff members and the stigma of society is the problem. I can give many examples of my over 20 years as a staff and patient to describe it. This is one that really sticks out to me. She walks in she is wearing and old dress, it has stains on it. It may be the…

View original post 1,312 more words

