04sq5x-l-610x610-yellow+shoes-shoes-yellow+bag-bag-fashion+bags-heels-fashion+shoes-stylish-stylish+eve-pink-bracelets-colorful-spring-trends-chanel-michael+kors-bag+pursesWhat I realized looking back on my 20s is that my friends have always more supportive, more reliable and more insightful than any guy in my life.

Reflecting on that, I can’t help but shake my head at a nasty cliche I used to hear repeatedly from a male friend in university: “All women secretly hate each other.”

I never understood this because I never experienced it. Roxanne Gay, in her book Bad Feminist, had this to say on the subject: “Abandon the cultural myth that all female friendships must be bitchy, toxic or competitive. This myth is like heels and purses — pretty but designed to SLOW women down.”

via Who Needs A Man With Friends Like These | Sadiya Ansari.

Yes, I’m not afraid to admit it, I thought this quote was great! About time too. For too long I believed that quote, that women secretly hate each other. I did experience it, but like most experiences, I’ve found perspective is key in unraveling them.

After taking time to notice, I realized that really there are crappy friends on both sides of the gender equation.  There are crappy significant others on both sides of the equation too.

The necessary skill is to ensure you’re picking the best possible people in your life. Period.

Today, take a look at your life.  Today is a new day – start spring cleaning now, it’s not too late.  Keep what’s working and say goodbye to what’s not. Let your relationships help you grow and move forward.  Pretty is fine, but don’t let it slow you down.

Be all you can be and be the friend who helps someone else be all they can be too.

©2015 JFries/Rise Like Air

Thanks for stopping by, we always appreciate it. Want to connect with Rise Like Aire?  Here’s how!

Visit us on Facebook   Our WordPress Blog

Follow us on Twitter    Join us on Instagram

Join us on Pinterest

 

