13435443_1350680868281073_2926726314021244392_n

 

Our hearts break for all the people who have experienced tragedy and there has been far too much to even begin to bear lately. The stories that we know and even the many stories that we don’t (since plenty of tragedy happens that isn’t quite tragic enough to make the front page), bring us to our knees today in grief and horror at what we as humans can do to each other for absolutely no reason. And I mean absolutely no reason. We can pretend there are reasons. We can choose to take sides, believe one is right, just and good while the other one is wrong, unjust and bad. But in reality it is truly unreasonable, and in honesty unfathomable, the lengths we achieve, to cause harm in the name of reason.

Instead, may tragedy serve to bring us closer together, treat each other with kind compassion as we continue to work tirelessly and fearlessly to make our world a better place in spite of the hatred and intolerance that rears it’s ugly head.

I only have to choose how events like these will affect me. Will I use them to feel defeated or use them to propel myself forward, to action, to making a difference?  The choice is mine. The choice is yours. We all need to choose, and choose wisely.

I will make sense of the senseless by my choices. I will not hate – I will love, I will not give up – I will persevere. I will soften my heart and I will simply strive to do all I can, where I am, all the time, every day.

IF WE WANT THERE TO BE PEACE IN THE WORLD, WE HAVE TO BE BRAVE ENOUGH TO SOFTEN WHAT IS RIGID IN OUR HEARTS, TO FIND THE SOFT SPOT AND STAY WITH IT. WE HAVE TO HAVE THAT KIND OF COURAGE AND TAKE THAT KIND OF RESPONSIBILITY. THAT’S THE TRUE PRACTICE OF PEACE. – Pema Chodron from Practising Peace In Times Of War

13445749_1352648641417629_1785657232969280634_n

I hope yours is too.

©2016 JFries/Rise Like Air

Thank you for stopping by, we always appreciate it. Want to connect with Rise Like Air? Here’s how

Visit us on Facebook   Our WordPress Blog

Follow us on Twitter    Join us on Instagram

Join us on Pinterest

