Yes, that’s my question. What do you plan on doing when you reach 104? How do you think you’ll feel? Where will you live? How will you spend your time? Today, reaching 104 isn’t out of the question. The question, is how are you going to approach that possibility?

Before I get into why 104 is the “magic” number today, I want to tell you what got me pondering and contemplating this in the first place. I’m going to let you in on a little secret. I may live to regret it. But, here it is. I’m getting older. Yup. There you have it. Here’s something I’ve noticed. A lot of people around me are getting older too. Actually I’ve noticed absolutely EVERYONE around me is getting older. Go figure! It’s happening!

I’ve noticed something else too. There appear to be three general reactions to this realization for most people.

  • Denial and rejection
  • Resignation and defeat
  • Embracement and acceptance

All three reactions are very legitimate and completely true in the minds of those holding them. What I’m beginning to notice, is that the attitude held seems to not so much support the reality they are experiencing, but at the very least, to some degree appears to create it.

antiagingquotes

Lately I have encountered a large number of people looking at the ageing process with resignation and defeat. I hear things like:

  • this growing old sucks
  • growing old isn’t for the faint of heart
  • growing old and I’m falling apart
  • everything hurts when you start to get old

I’ve begun to get extremely frustrated with this prevailing attitude because you know what? I’m not having any of it.

I mentioned the other day that I’d thrown my back out and was having to see my chiropractor. The response was “Yeah, growing old sucks.” I sat with that for a bit before responding. “Nope, growing old doesn’t suck, I’m rather embracing that part at the moment. But being in pain right now definitely does suck.” Because that is my truth, at least right now. I’ve thrown my back out in my “youth” too. Hurt the same then as now. Sucked then as much as now for the most part.

For quite awhile I held that very same attitude. Growing older sucked, there was no good coming from it. But then a number of things occurred (everything happens for a reason) and I began to think that just maybe this wasn’t the beginning of the end as much as just another beginning. The result of that subtle shift, and tiny steps I took, turned my ageing self around. A change in what I believed and how I perceived ageing and myself began the process of not only feeling better physically, mentally and spiritually, but embracing this next phase of my life. And that phase holds such limitless possibility and potential.

 

Today a friend shared this gem of a story from the UK, “104 Year Old Woman Keeps Fit With Yoga”. The woman is Eileen Ash, who at 105 (her birthday was yesterday) is not only apparently the oldest living Test cricketer, but does yoga, drives her car and wonders when she will really be old. She asks, ‘Will it be when I’m 105?” Something tells me, probably not. (The article is only 2 paragraphs with a 1:18 video so it’s short and sweet)

I know the ease and grace of ageing is impacted by our genetics and environment, but I believe it is often most strongly impacted by what we choose to believe and thereby what we choose to perceive.

So given that, I’ll pose my question once again.

What do you plan on doing when you reach 104?

 

©2016 JFries/Rise Like Air

Visit us on Facebook   Our WordPress Blog

Follow us on Twitter    Join us on Instagram

Join us on Pinterest

